B-Lab 2020

B-Lab is an intensive 8-week venture accelerator program that supports student entrepreneurs developing high-impact ventures. Each venture receives sector-specific mentoring and programming, and joins a peer cohort of dedicated founders. This summer, our 15 ventures will be working remotely for their safety, tuning into engaging live and pre-recorded content, and meeting with peers, mentors, and B-Lab staff via web conferencing. We are thrilled that we can continue to offer B-Lab (in this slightly different way) and are confident that all students and ventures will make incredible progress over the summer. 

The 15 student ventures accepted into this year’s program have founders from Brown University, RISD, Amherst College, and Hofstra University who bring diverse perspectives, strengths, and interests to the cohort. They are bound together by their passion for creating meaningful solutions to important challenges in exciting markets, and they represent some of the most advanced ventures in the Brown entrepreneurial ecosystem. Learn more about the program through this short video!

Aridity Capital

Aridity Capital is a social venture using direct cash transfers coupled with individualized support programs to help families lift themselves out of poverty.

Eddie Uong '21

Eddie Uong '21

Economics and History

edward_uong@brown.edu

Bittersweet

Our pets are family, and deserve sensitive and dignified death care. At Bittersweet, we design and produce pet coffins because they ensure that the moment does not go unmarked. Our designs are based around diverse burial traditions and sustainability practices.

Hillary Brame '20

Hillary Brame '20

Development Studies and Furniture Design

hillary_brame@brown.edu

Cress Health

Cress Health develops technologies that enhance personal mental wellness. We offer a first-of-its-kind mobile self-care app that is designed for healthcare workers, combining data-driven mental wellness features with a confidential peer support platform.

Justin M. Kim '21

Justin M. Kim '21

Health and Human Biology (A.B.) and Computer Science (A.B.)

justin_kim1@brown.edu

Matthew Lee '22

Matthew Lee '22

Business-Economics and Biology

matthew_lee1@brown.edu

Michael Lai '20

Michael Lai '20

Biology

Hofstra University

mlai3@pride.hofstra.edu

EmpowerU

Empower U is an educational tech startup that works to help address educational disparities. It achieves this goal by providing students with the resources and tools they need to obtain higher education and essentially go on to improve the quality of their lives.

Elvia Perez '22

Elvia Perez '22

Business Economics

elvia_perez@brown.edu

InStance

Persons afflicted with neuromuscular diseases frequently suffer from secondary musculoskeletal conditions that are severe enough to prevent them from walking or standing unassisted. InStance is developing sensors to optimize weight-bearing rehabilitative therapy and long-term assessment of therapy efficacy.

Joshua Daniel

Joshua Daniel

Biomedical Engineering ScB '18, ScM '20

joshua_daniel@brown.edu

LapSnap

LapSnap has designed a grocery shopping bag for wheelchair users. Currently, shopping for food is a major hassle for people who use wheelchairs, and there is no affordable solution that works for all chairs. The LapSnap bag was designed in collaboration with real wheelchair users, and the hope is that it will improve lives by giving people a tool for greater independence.

Diana Perkins '20

Diana Perkins '20

Mechanical Engineering & Industrial Design

diana_perkins@brown.edu

Chloe Rosenberg '20

Chloe Rosenberg '20

Engineering and Economics

chloe_rosenberg@brown.edu

Hannah Mintz '20

Hannah Mintz '20

Masters in Teaching (MAT)

hannah_mintz@brown.edu

Liber

Liber is a product designed to proactively detect the alcohol content, screen for the presence of date rape drugs within beverages, and predict users’ BAC (based on self-reported biometric data).

Reetam Ganguli '23

Reetam Ganguli '23

Medical Engineering and Reproductive Healthcare

reetam_ganguli@brown.edu

Justen Joffe '23

Justen Joffe '23

Applied Math-Economics and Political Science

Justen_joffe@brown.edu

MyCycleKit

For many women, the week before their menstrual cycle can feel like hell – and we are here to make that one-quarter of life better. Using a personalized, all-in-one-place e-toolkit, MyCycleKit helps women with premenstrual symptoms develop an actionable pathway to symptom relief.

Zixi (Jessica) Zhu '20

Zixi (Jessica) Zhu '20

Cognitive Neuroscience

zixi_zhu@brown.edu

Youna Choi '21

Youna Choi '21

Neuroscience

Amherst College

yochoi21@amherst.edu

Peal

Peal is a social app that invites you and your friends to events based on mutual interests.

Asha Franchi '20

Asha Franchi '20

Economics & Music

asha_franchi@brown.edu

Srishti Lulla '20

Srishti Lulla '20

Computer Science

srishti_lulla@brown.edu

Pointz

Pointz is a mobile app that determines and presents the safest routes for bicyclists based on a variety of factors including the type of bicycle being ridden (different types of bikes call for different types of roads), preferences for elevation, and purpose of ride (ex. recreational, commuting). Pointz accomplishes this by using road data and crowdsourced route information. Our app can be thought of as “Waze for bikes.”

Maggie Bachenberg '22

Maggie Bachenberg '22

Environmental Science

maggie_bachenberg@brown.edu

SiliStor

Inspired by mothers, SiliStor is a functionally designed breast milk storage system with space-saving, reusable silicone bottles, a storage unit that ensures the oldest milk is easily accessible, and adapters that enable direct attachment of bottles to a breast pump and to a feeding nipple. This system allows for simple pumping, storing and feeding and eliminates the need for milk transfers in between. The unique shape maximizes storage space, and, unlike plastic, silicone does not leach harsh chemicals.

Selahaddin Gumus '22

Selahaddin Gumus '22

Chemistry, PhD

selahaddin_gumus@brown.edu

Dana Biechele-Speziale '24

Dana Biechele-Speziale '24

Chemistry, PhD

dana_biechele-speziale@brown.edu

Time Spent

Time Spent is a nonprofit startup in Providence that seeks to alleviate socioeconomic disparities by changing how we exchange services. Rather than involving money, the system utilizes something we all have: time. In this hour based barter system, people form new relationships and foster a strong community by using and earning “time credit” for each hour of work received and given.

William Yang '22

William Yang '22

Applied Math-Computer Science

william_yang@brown.edu

Hannah Skye Dunnigan '23

Hannah Skye Dunnigan '23

Economics, Industrial Design Brown|RISD Dual Degree

hannah_dunnigan@brown.edu

Michelle Liu '22

Michelle Liu '22

Statistics & Sociology

michelle_liu@brown.edu

Txtured

Txtured is a customized hair care brand for people with natural, textured hair. Our product eliminates the elaborate haircare product hunting experience and creates custom products for a user’s hair condition and goals while adapting to their exercise and eating habits.

Lauren Brown '22

Lauren Brown '22

Business, Entrepreneurship, and Organizations (BEO)

lauren_brown2@brown.edu

Ubica

Ubica makes it easier than ever to create and share events. We help organizations deliver live, virtual and hybrid event experiences with an all-in-one platform solution.

Nkanyiso Nzimande '20

Nkanyiso Nzimande '20

Computer Science

nkanyiso_nzimande@brown.edu

Samuel Aguilar '19

Samuel Aguilar '19

Cognitive Science

samuel_aguilar@alumni.brown.edu

WeFlop

WeFlop is an online poker platform that allows users to host, customize, and monetize their own online poker rooms.

Glenn Yu '20

Glenn Yu '20

Economics and English

glenn_yu@brown.edu