2018 Brown Venture Prize Finalists

Welcome to the first annual Brown Venture Prize, a friendly competition showcasing
Brown’s most advanced ventures. We are pleased to announce this year’s finalists, which have been carefully selected by an esteemed group of experienced Brown Alumni entrepreneurs.
We hope that you can join us on pitch night for a fun festive event!

Thursday, March 15, 2018
MacMillan 117 Auditorium
167 Thayer Street
Providence, RI 02906

CLOUD AGRONOMICS

Cloud Agronomics is automating disease identification in orchards and providing farmers precise, actionable data
about the location of the infection and probable spread vector.

Jack Roswell

Jack Roswell

jack_roswell@brown.edu

Julian Vallyeason

Julian Vallyeason

julian_vallyeason@brown.edu

Alex Zhuk

Alex Zhuk

oleksiy_zhuk@brown.edu

PENTA

Penta provides low cost, high-quality prosthetic care for low-income amputees in Vietnam
and other developing countries through innovative and sustainable solutions.

Trang Duong

Trang Duong

trang_duong@brown.edu

Victor Wang

Victor Wang

SUBLY

Subly is a subletting marketplace for landlords, tenants, and subletters to find sublets and negotiate terms, simply and legally.

Samane Mahbub

Samane Mahbub

samanee_mahbub@brown.edu

Sahil Prasad

Sahil Prasad

sahil_prasad@brown.edu

Connor Lightsey

Connor Lightsey

connor_lightsey@brown.edu

Trushitha Narla

Trushitha Narla

trushitha_narla@brown.edu

Benjamin Perez

Benjamin Perez

benjamin_perez@brown.edu

Andrei Voicu

Andrei Voicu

andrei_radu_voicu_moldoveanu@brown.edu

IVIDERE

iVidere is an intelligent visual prosthesis for people with visual impairment.
We hope iVidere will empower users to increase their independence.

Morgan Talbot

Morgan Talbot

morgan_talbot@brown.edu

Raghu Nimmagadda

Raghu Nimmagadda

kaushik_nimmagadda@brown.edu

Peter Hahn

Peter Hahn

peter_hahn@brown.edu

HELIOTROPE

Heliotrope Energy is using artificial intelligence to optimize and lower the cost of renewable energy production.

Edward C. Williams

Edward C. Williams

edward_c_williams@brown.edu

Stephen Brawner

Stephen Brawner

stephen_brawner@brown.edu

TEXTUP

TextUp is a software tool for social workers that creates cost savings, as well as builds capacity, saves time
and improves professional quality of life.

Michelle Petersen

Michelle Petersen

michelle_petersen@brown.edu

Eric Bai

Eric Bai

eric_bai@brown.edu

Hanna Oh

Hanna Oh

RELIABRA

ReliaBra features backless and strapless “sticky bras” with removable and replaceable adhesives
—bras that women can truly stick with!

Roja Garimella

Roja Garimella

roja_garimella@brown.edu

Rose Mangiarotti

Rose Mangiarotti

rose_mangiarotti@brown.edu

ACTION AUCTIONS

Action Auctions is a web app that uses game theory to make philanthropy fun!

Anand Lalwani

Anand Lalwani

anand_lalwani@brown.edu

Xuefei Yang

Xuefei Yang

xuefei_yang@brown.edu

Aaron Mayer

Aaron Mayer

aaron_mayer@brown.edu

Oscar Newman

Oscar Newman

oscar_newman@brown.edu

2018 JUDGES

A huge thank-you to our judges for their time, energy, and support of the 2018 Brown Venture Prize!

Luke Sherwin '12

Luke Sherwin '12

Co-Founder of Casper

Neil Parikh '11

Neil Parikh '11

Co-Founder of Casper

Jessica Kim '00

Jessica Kim '00

Venture Partner at Praxis / Founder

Steph Korey '09

Steph Korey '09

Co-Founder of Away

Heidi Messer '92

Heidi Messer '92

Co-Founder of Collective-I

Scott Norton '08

Scott Norton '08

Co-Founder of Sir Kensington’s

Brad Weinberg '03, MD '11

Brad Weinberg '03, MD '11

Co-Founder of Blueprint Health